Unfortunately the construction date and early history of the Enameling Building is somewhat vague. However, it is generally agreed that this building is one of the oldest on site. The northern section of the building is thought to date from 1828, while the southern section with the enameling furnace dates from 1834. The enameling furnace was used to coat cast iron with clay high in silica (glass) to make it food safe. The enameling process was in operation for three years before it was perfected in 1837. That same year the building and operations were shut down. This was because the Howell Works was in a period of decline and was plagued with financial problems during 1837. It’s around this time that the iron production at the Howell Works shifted back to producing primarily pig iron for the New York City foundry, Allaire Works. Enameled cookware which started in the 1830s is still popular with professional and amateur chefs today. Le Creuset is a well-known brand.
After the enameling process ceased it is unclear whether or not the building was being used and for what purpose. By 1850 the building had been converted into a residence for the file cutter, Samual Stokes and his family.
Today the enameling building houses a number of static and rotating displays. During Christmas, for example, the building becomes a Christmas Shoppe showcasing unique ornaments. Currently, the rotating displays include one about the history of writing and writing implements.